Walterstown got their first win of the Junior B Championship campaign with Joey Farrelly scoring 3 goals to help give them a 4 point win over Duleek/Bellewstown in Seneschalstown on Friday night.
Duleek/Bellewstown started the game the brightest racing into an early 1-03 to 0-0 lead. Walterstown didn’t get off the mark until after 12 minutes with a point from Andrew Daly, this point spurred the team into action with Jack Hennelly and Cormac Madden adding further points to bring it back to 3 between the sides. Walterstown levelled the game 5 minutes later with Joey Farrelly finishing off a good move by finding the back of the net to get Walterstown’s first goal of the game. Duleek/Bellewstown went back ahead with 7 minutes left in the half, however Joey Farrelly got his second goal of the match after a surging run from Conor Cullen who passed it to Joey to palm into the back of the net. Walterstown added a further 2 points before half time to give them a 4 point lead at the break.
Half time – Walterstown 2-05 v Duleek/Bellewstown 1-04

Duleek/Bellewstown started the 2nd half much like the first outscoring Walterstown 0-5 v 0-1 to bring the sides level with 15 minutes gone in the half. Joey Farrelly got his 3rd goal of the match after a great passing move from defence to attack, Madden added 2 further points to give Walterstown a 5 point lead with 13 minutes left. Both sides traded scores in the next few minutes before Duleek/Bellewstown then found the back of the net and followed this up with another point to leave just a point between the sides. Cormac Madden however settled the blacks once again with their 4th goal of the match to put 4 between the sides with 4 minutes remaining. C.Madden added a further point for Walterstown with Duleek/Bellewstown getting the last score of the game however it was Walterstown who came out on top with a 4-10 to 2-12 victory.

Walterstown Team: Ciaron Lydon, David Walsh, Conor McGuinness, Darren McMahon, Kashif Ali, Ciaran Murphy, Paddy McCabe, Ronan Barry(0-2), Donal Traynor (0-1), Conor Cullen, Andrew Daly (0-1), Sean Irwin, Jack Hennelly (0-1), Joey Farrelly (3-01), Cormac Madden (1-04)

Subs: Liam Irwin for Darren McMahon(23 mins)