The Allianz sponsored Meath Cumann Na mBunscol Boys football finals took place in Pairc Tailteann last Saturday.

Kildalkey and Lismullen served up the game of the day in the Division 2 decider. In the end a draw was a fair result and both teams will have to do it all over again.

Kildalkey  N.S 5-7 Lismullen N.S 4-10

Kildalkey playing with the wind led at the break 4-4 to 1-5. The team in Blue and White were first to score through Charlie Molloy but Lismullen began to find their feet and hit 1-2 without reply, Ciaran Cox getting the goal. Kildalkey began to use the elements and outscored Lismullen 4-3 to 0-2 for the remainder of the half. Jamie Murray hit 2-1 while Sam Sweeney and Ben Corkery also raised green flags.

Lismullen began to eat in to the Kildalkey lead. a brace of goals from Ciaran Cox and another from Neil McGinley had them in front 4-8 to 4-5 but against the run of play Brandon Geraghty after a great run found the back of the Lismullen net to tie up matters. Kildalkey were on a roll and added points from Sam Sweeney and Molloy and looked set to win. Lismullen and Neil McGinley had other ideas and after missing a few chances the midfielder kicked two great points to leave it level at the full time whistle.

Kildalkey NS: Alex Rickard, Thomas O’Brien McGee Seán McMahon Shay Diggins, Cian Colhoun Seán Potterton Jamie Kavanagh, Brandon Geraghty 1-0, Brian O’Halloran 0-2, Charlie Molloy 0-3, Sam Sweeney 1-1, Ben Corkery 1-0, Ciarán Reynolds Caemerhon Smyth Jamie Murray 2-1. SUBS: 16. Callum Skerry, 17. Conor Barnwell, 18. Cian Murphy, 19. James Cully, 20. Mark Hand, 21. Conor McNally, 22. Oisín Jennings, 24. Cian Walsh-Gibbons, 25. Aaran Kerrigan, 26. Aaron Potterton

Lismullen NS: Conor Brady, Conor Reilly Daire Cosgrove (Capt) Karl Cooney, Padraic Freeman 0-1 Breandán McGuinness Mark Kelly, Neil McGinley 1-2,  Alex Barrett, Caighlum Mulvey 0-1 Adam Murphy 0-1 Seán Cassidy 0-1, Ciarán Cox 3-0 Patrick Davis 0-1 Oliver Maloney. SUBS: 17. Seán Christie 18. Kyle Murray 19. Caoilinn Campbell O’Brien, 20. Mikey Doyle 21. Jack Allen 22. Jamie Lenehan 23. Daniel Cooney

Referee Tony Kearney


(Courtesy of HoganStand)