Ideal Bathrooms Junior C Championship Group A Round 4

St Michaels V Walterstown

Carlanstown Mon 12/08/19

Walterstown made the journey to Carlanstown for round 4 of the Junior C Championship on Monday evening. The heavy downpours during the day seemed to have ceased as Paul McCarthy organised the team with Robbie Barrett and Mark McGuire absent, ably assisted by Ciaron Lydon. Nine of the starting fifteen from the recent Division 3 final started with Cormac Freeman and Jonathan Murchan joining the defence and Andrew Barry, Timi Sowumni, Andrew Moran and Ciaran Murphy joining the forward lines.

Conor Lenehan was the first to raise the white flag five minutes in, although St Michaels were quick to respond with a point of their own. Walterstown were guilty in the early exchanges of not converting their chances with two efforts coming off the posts and several efforts wide of the mark. Christopher Farrelly made certain with Walterstown’s second point from play, and Conor Lenehan again pointed twice with two fine efforts from play. Michael’s responded and grabbed the first goal of the game to reel Walterstown back in. Once again Conor Lenehan surged forward and grabbed his fourth point of the opening half just before the heavens opened, with a tremendous downpour which emptied the side-lines, as all supporters took shelter from the driving rain. Walterstown pointed twice more before the break via Stephen Davis and Ciaron Murphy.

Half Time Walterstown 0:07 St Michaels 1:02

Walterstown were the brighter after the re-start with Stephen Davis forcing the Michael’s keeper to pull of a fine save. Stephen did point shortly afterwards either side of points from Andy Moran and the hard working Timi Sowumi. Walterstown were dominating possession now and Andrew Barry further extended the blacks lead with a point and a well taken goal. Kit Reynolds, Conor McGuire and Eoin O Leary came on as subs midway through the second half. Kit was next to join the list of scorers for the blacks, and when Christopher Farrelly pounced for Walterstown’s second goal the game was as good as over. Conor McGuire further extended Walterstown advantage, and Paddy Donnellan and Eoin Finlay entered the field of play. The final word fell to Conor Lenehan who increased his tally for the day with Walterstown’s third goal and final score of the game.

Final Score St Michaels 1:02 Walterstown 3:14

For Walterstown : Daniel Murphy, David McGuire, Cormac Freeman, Darren Finnegan (Paddy Donnelan) , Adam Cummins, Jonathan Murchan , Conor Lenehan (1:04), Christopher Farrelly (1:01), Aidan O Conor , Andrew Moran (0:01), Ciaron Murphy (0:01)(Eoin O Leary), Andrew Barry (1:01) (Conor McGuire (0:01)), Mark Foy (Eoin Finlay), Stephen Davis (0:03), Timi Sowumni (0:01) (Kit Reynolds (0:01)).


Final Round Walterstown V Syddan , date and time TBC.