Division 3 Round 8 Dunsany V Walterstown Sunday 26th May


On a pleasant Sunday morning Walterstown mace the short trip to Dunsany for round eight of the League. Dunsany opted to play the first half, away from the club house, with the (at times) strong breeze at their backs.

Immediately from the off Walterstown launched a strong attack with midfielder Conor O Sullivan bursting through the Dunsany defence only to see his effort come back off the cross bar. It was Dunsany who registered the first point of the game via a free kick on two minutes. Five minutes in, another surging run, this time from half back Mark McCormack, again unlocked the Dunsany defence and this time Mark rattled the back of the net. Walterstown’s Alban Crosbie and John Geoghegan scored two points for the blacks before Dunsany, already with a very lean bench, were dealt a blow with a black card eleven minutes in. Walterstown were dominating possession by this stage but were not really converting their chances, Mark, Alban and John added to their score tally before the half time interval.

Half time:  Dunsany 0:04 Walterstown 1:05

A half time change saw the introduction of Joey Coogan and almost with his first kick he scored the opening point of the half. Walterstown blitzed Dunsany in the opening minutes of the second half with points from the O Connell brothers, three for Barry and one for Brian and another for John Geoghegan. Aron McLoughlin had a good goal chance only to see his effort go narrowly wide. Paul Foy and Conor Lenehan entered the field of play 7 minutes in, and Paul almost got Walterstown’s second goal, but it was saved by the Dunsany keeper. Not long after Brian O Connell, with a determined run, did raise the green flag again, to effectively end the game as a contest. Aidan O Conor came on and scored a fine point from range, and Conor Lenehan pointed again just after. Dunsany were given an opportunity to make the score board a bit more respectable late on when they were awarded a penalty, but John Davis pulled off a good save to deny them. Robbie McDonnell scored the final point of the game just before Pat Clarke drew an end to the proceedings.

Final Score: Dunsany 0:08 Walterstown 2:17

For Walterstown: John Davis, Eoin O Mahony, Conor Cullen, Colm Reilly, Mark McCormack (1:01) , David Reynolds, Cathal McGuinness, Conor O Sullivan, Alban Crosbie (0:02(2f)), Robbie McDonnell (0:01), John Geoghegan (0:03), Adam Treanor, Aron McLoughlin (0:01), Brian O Connell (1:02), Barry O Connell (0:03).

Subs: Conor Lenehan (0:01) for Barry O Connell, Paul Foy for Adam Treanor, Joey Coogan (0:02) for Robbie McDonnell, Aidan O Conor (0:01) for John Geoghegan, Robbie McDonnell for Brian O’Connell

Next game: Round 10 Balivor V Walterstown Wed 29th @ 7:45