Division 3 Round 4 Moynalty V Walterstown

Sunday 24th February

Both of these teams were showing good form coming into this game with both having registered two wins and a loss apiece before this encounter, on an ideal day for a game of football.   

With barely a minute gone in the game Walterstowns Joey Coogan scored the first point of the game for the visitors. This was followed with points from Sam McCabe and Mark McCormack. Indeed Walterstown were the much brighter during the opening exchange and were guilty of not tacking on more scores to reflect their superiority in opening ten minutes. Moynalty registered their first point eight minutes in, but this was quickly cancelled out with another point from Joey Coogan. As the half wore on Moynalty came more and more into the game, registering two quick points. Conor Cullen had to come off through injury and a black card for Colm Reilly saw the introductions of David Reynolds and Dan Halligan. John Geoghegan, Alban Crosbie and Joseph Coogan registered more points for the visitors as they went in at the break a point to the good.

Half time score: Moynalty 0:06 Walterstown 0-7 

Similar to the previous game Walterstown again came out strong in the second half, with three points in three minutes from Alban Crosbie, Colin McGrane and Stephen Davis. Again Moynalty responded with points of their own. A point from Alban Crosbie and another’s for Sam McCabe and John Geoghegan saw Walterstown once again extend their lead. Monalty were not going to give up though and after a scoring a point, followed it up with the game’s only goal twenty minutes into the second half. It was once again a close game, but Walterstown held their nerve and two points from Sam McCabe and a point from Stephen Davis in the closing stages ensured the points went back to Oldtown, as the blacks move up the table.

Full time score: Moynalty 1-10 Walterstown 0-17

Next up: Walterstown V Drumbarragh on March 10th.

For Walterstown; Ciaran  Murphy, Eoin O Mahoney, Conor Cullen , Colm Reilly (BC), Cathal McGuinness, David Donnellan, Colin McGrane (0:01), Alban Crosbie (0:04(4F)),  Conor O Sullivan,  Mark McCormack (0:01), John Geoghegan (0:02), Adam Treanor, Aaron McLoughlin, Sam McCabe (0:04), Joseph Coogan(0:03)

Subs:  David Reynolds for Conor Cullen, Daniel Halligan for Colm Reilly, Stephen Davis (0:02) for Joseph Coogan, Joseph Coogan for Adam Treanor, Conor Lenehan, Adam Barrett and Luke Cullen.