14 June 2019 – ACBFL Division 3 – Meath Hill 1-11 Walterstown 5-14


A panel of 21 players made the long journey to north Meath, for this Round 7, B League fixture, which Walterstown had to win to maintain their hopes for end of season honours. The match saw goalkeeper Daniel Murphy make his competitive adult debut, meaning that all nine of last year’s full age minors have now made the step up. With the rain taking a welcome break, the game was played on a fine evening and on an excellent surface.


Walterstown attacked the end away from the clubhouse in the first half and the returning Mark Foy opened the scoring with a goal in the second minute, followed by a point from Stephen Davis. The hosts opened their account with a pointed free, before Stephen kicked a further two points, giving the Blacks a five-point lead by the 10th minute. With accurate kick outs from Daniel being well fielded by Christopher Farrelly and Kevin Devine, Walterstown were dominating possession. A second home point was matched by one from Mark, before the hosts third point was met by three points from the visitors, two from Ciaran Murphy and one from Kevin. Meath Hill scored their fourth point, before Stephen finished to the net, following a powerful run from Paul Foy. Darren Finnegan, David Maguire and Cormac Freeman kept things tight at the back and this allowed wing backs Adam Cummins and Jonathan Murchan and centre back Peter Reynolds to join in attacks to good effect. As half-time approached, the home team scored their fifth point. Points from Paul and Christopher left the Blacks with a 10 point lead at half-time.


Half Time – Meath Hill 0-5 Walterstown 2-9


During the break, Kit Reynolds replaced Cormac Freeman, with Adam Barrett moving to corner back and Kit lining out at corner forward.


Meath Hill had the better of the first 10 minutes of the second half, scoring three points to Walterstown’s two, the first a fine effort from Andrew Barry and the second coming from Kevin, who won a throw up on the ‘21, before firing over. Shortly afterwards, Kit opened his account, before Mark was fouled in the large square, whilst bearing down on goal again. The resultant penalty was converted by Stephen. Christopher then added his second point, to leave the visitors 14 points ahead, midway through the second half. However, the home team were not done and responded with a goal and a point of their own. Patrick Donnellan replaced the hard working Adam Cummins and carried on where Adam left, defending well and joining in attacks where possible. Kit added his second point, before injury forced Andrew off, to be replaced by Ramiz Sohail. Ramiz used his pace to good effect and was unlucky to see a goal bound shot hit the post. Timi Sowumni came on for Ciaran Murphy. The match was ended as a contest when a shot from distance from Darren evaded the home goalkeeper. Eoin Finlay came on to give Mark a well-deserved rest and Eoin joined in the play to good effect, almost putting Timi in for a goal. Meath Hill battled to the end, scoring a further two points, which came either side of an excellent team move by the Blacks, leading to an expertly taken second goal from marauding corner back Darren.


Full Time – Meath Hill 1-11 Walterstown 5-14


The management team was delighted with the performance of every member of the panel, with each line, from the goalkeeper to the full forwards, showing well on the night. It was particularly encouraging to see eight different scorers, with all scores coming from play, save for Stephen’s penalty. The match was played in a great spirit and credit also goes to Meath Hill, who were great hosts, in terms of the facilities, the pitch and their after match hospitality. The result keeps the lads in contention at the top of the table. The next match is at home to Clann na nGael, at 7.30pm on 21 June 2019. All support is appreciated.


Walterstown: Daniel Murphy; Darren Finnegan (2-0), David Maguire; Cormac Freeman; Adam Cummins; Peter Reynolds; Jonathan Murchan; Kevin Devine (0-2); Christopher Farrelly (0-2); Ciaran Murphy (0-2), Mark Foy (1-1), Paul Foy (0-1), Adam Barrett; Stephen Davis (2-3, 1 penalty) and Andrew Barry (0-1). Substitutes: Kit Reynolds (0-2) for Cormac Freeman; Patrick Donnellan for Adam Cummins; Ramiz Sohail for Andrew Barry; Timi Sowumni for Ciaran Murphy; Eoin Finlay for Mark Foy and Ciaran Lydon (not used).