JCFC Semi-Final – Walterstown 3-9 Dunsany 0-3

Sunday, 13 October 2019

Walterstown took a panel of 28 players to Summerhill, for a Junior C Football Championship Semi-Final against Dunsany. Despite recent heavy rainfall, the hosts provided a good playing surface for the match, which was refereed by Owen Ganly.

Walterstown played into the clubhouse end, but both sides found scores hard to come by at first. It took until the 8th minute for Conor Lenehan to open the scoring, with a point from play, which was cancelled out by a point from Dunsany within a minute. A minute later, Mark Foy scored a goal, with Darren Finnegan raising a second green flag 6 minutes later. After 20 minutes, Darren added a point from play, following a quickly taken free. Two minutes before the interval, Dunsany scored their second point, but the Blacks were grateful to Eoin O’Leary for two goal-line clearances and to Daniel Murphy for a point-blank save, which ensured that Walterstown had a six point lead at the break.

Half Time: Walterstown 2-2 Dunsany 0-2

Aaron Dunphy replaced Darren for the second half and the Blacks resumed brightly, with a point from Mark after 2 minutes and a goal from Stephen Davis in the 6th minute. A fine team move put Conor Lenehan in for his second point in the 8th minute. Dunsany scored what proved to be their final point in the 12th minute, before Paul Foy replaced Ciaran Murphy. Adam Barrett added a pointed free in the 19th minute. The biggest cheer of the day from a good travelling support greeted Alan Wall’s return from a lengthy injury absence, as a substitute for Aidan O’Connor. Kit Reynolds came on to give Conor Lenehan a well earned rest. Andrew Moran then replaced Adam Barrett and Andrew was on the scoreboard almost immediately, with a good point from play. Stephen then pointed a free, before giving way to Andrew Barry. In injury time, Adam Cummins scored a point, to cap an excellent performance by him, before Paul completed the day’s scoring with a point.

Full-time: Walterstown 3-9 Dunsany 0-3

The management team was very pleased with the panel’s performance on the day and can now look forward to a final against Dunderry, with details to be confirmed. This will be a second decider for the lads, having made the B League Final in August. All support is greatly appreciated.

Walterstown: Daniel Murphy; Eoin O’Leary; Davy Maguire; Cormac Freeman; Kashif Ali; Jonathan Murchan; Conor Lenehan (0-2), Adam Cummins (0-1); Christopher Farrelly; Ciaran Murphy; Aidan O’Connor; Darren Finnegan (1-1), Adam Barrett (0-1, 1f); Stephen Davis (1-1, 1f) and Mark Foy (1-1).

Substitutes: Aaron Dunphy for Darren Finnegan; Paul Foy (0-1) for Ciaran Murphy; Alan Wall for Aidan O’Connor; Kit Reynolds for Conor Lenehan; Andrew Moran (0-1) for Adam Barrett and Andrew Barry for Stephen Davis; Not Used: Darragh Keegan; Dan Halligan; Harry Beggy; JP Beggy; Conor McGuire; Eoin Finlay and Ramiz Sohail.