Nobber deny Walterstown Semi Final berth

Walterstown vs Nobber in IFC Quarter Final

Trim Sunday 29th Sep

Walterstown played Nobber in Trim in the IFC quarter final last Sunday. Walterstown found themselves 2 points down after 7 minutes but 2 quick points from Mark McCormack and Aron McLoughlin had the sides level before Nobber pointed again. Walterstown then went 4 points to 3 ahead with the scores coming from Mark McCormack and Ruairí O Dowd. Nobber then scored a well finished goal to regain the lead and even though the Blacks added 4 more points from Barry O Connell, Colm Reilly and a brace from Ruairí O Dowd they still went in at half time down 1 point—8 points to 1-6. They had very good chances of being further ahead but for a half dozen wides before half time.

Both sides Under 10’s played exhibition game at half time

In the second half Nobber pointed first through a Brian Farrell free but then Walterstown scored the next 4 points to go 2 points ahead after 15 mins. One of these points was a great Barry O Connell effort which had blasted over the keeper, only to be palmed over the bar by a Nobber defender. Another Farrell free put Nobber just 1 behind but Aron McLoughlin pointed again for Walterstown to be ahead 13 to 1-8 after 24 minutes. Nobber levelled the match at 27 minutes and finished the match with 2 more Farrell frees to leave the final score 1-12 to 0-13 in favour of Nobber.

Walterstown will feel that they left this game behind them and will feel hard done by, as Brian Farrell kicked 7 frees from the Nobber total. 2019 has been a bad year for Walterstown regarding injuries and had come into this game missing 3 first team players thru injury which did not help their cause. However they did achieve promotion in the A League and had won their last 5 IFC matches so management and players should not be too displeased with the 2019 season.

C Lydon, E O Mahony, C Hennelly, C Reilly (0-1) D Reynolds Colin McGrane, A McLoughlin (0-2), C O Sullivan, A Crosbie (F 2), M McCormack (0-1), R O Dowd (0-3), A Treanor (0-1), C Farrelly, P Donnellan, Barry O Connell (0-3)—

Sub K Devine for A Treanor, Ciaran Murphy , Peter Reynolds, John Geoghegan, Eoin Finlay, Joe Coogan


Posted in General.